What Should Unity Look Like for Christians?

When disagreement and division seems to characterize our society, we as believers need to rally around the core truths, God’s truths, that hold us together. Though we may all come from different backgrounds, are at different stages of life, have varying beliefs based on denomination, traditions, etc, at the end of the day, we have the two most important things in common: our love for God and our love for one another.

I try to elevate this principle in every area of my life and recently, I’ve been able to apply this to the healthcare that my family and I use through Christian Healthcare Ministries. I’m so excited to share this with you, because of the giant blessing it has been to us. 

One of my favorite things about CHM is that they are a ministry—not a business, not insurance, and they are for every christian. CHM offers…

  • Affordable health cost sharing programs where you customize your level of care according to your needs

  • No network restrictions so you have flexibility in picking your preferred doctor

  • Scripture-based values and a biblical community where your support goes to fellow Christians in need. In the same way, you get the same level of support from the community. CHM’s staff prays with you and for you, all while taking care of your healthcare needs.

As followers of Jesus, we are called to care well for our physical bodies, as they are a temple of the Holy Spirit living within us. 

“Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.” ~1 Corinthians 6:19-20

I believe this starts with our daily mental and physical health habits and extends to how we care for our health as a broader community. 

“Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it.” ~1 Corinthians 12:27

CHM is based on this principle of Christian’s sharing one another’s burdens, so I always know my monthly gifts are going to pay the medical bill of my brothers & sisters in the family of faith. I also love knowing that the people whose gifts are covering my expenses are praying specific prayers for me. 

I could not recommend CHM more wholeheartedly! If you’re interested in learning more about them, you can click the button below, call them at (833) JoinCHM , or send an email to [email protected].

God bless you, and I’ll leave you with this quote, about unity, I’ve been thinking about recently…

“Has it ever occurred to you that one hundred pianos all tuned to the same fork are automatically tuned to each other? They are of one accord by being tuned, not to each other, but to another standard to which each one must individually bow. So one hundred worshipers met together, each one looking away to Christ, are in heart nearer to each other than they could possibly be, were they to become 'unity' conscious and turn their eyes away from God to strive for closer fellowship.”
A.W. Tozer, The Pursuit of God: The Human Thirst for the Divine